Vern Hyde Scholarship

Congratulations to the 2024 Vern Hyde Scholarship recipients!

1st Place: High School

Ashlyn Armock: Ashlyn is the recipient of the $2,000 Grand Prize High School scholarship. A graduate of West Catholic High School, Ashlyn will be attending Aquinas College in the fall to pursue a degree in English.

Runner-up: High School

Reese Geister: Reese is the recipient of the $1,500 High School Runner-Up scholarship. A graduate of Caledonia High School, Reese will attend the University of Alabama in the fall to pursue degrees in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

1st Place: College

Sarah Heiser: Sarah is the $1,000 College Student scholarship recipient. Sarah is currently pursuing degrees in Pre-Med and Biology at Ferris State University.

1st Place: Trade

Reece Alt: Reece is the $2,000 Trade Student scholarship recipient. Reece is currently pursuing the HVAC Program at Ferris State University.

Thank you to those who took the time to apply for the 2024 Vern Hyde Scholarship! This application is closed.

17th Annual Vern Hyde Scholarship

Offering College, University, and Trade School Opportunities

Community West Credit Union understands the value of higher education and how it helps prepare younger generations to serve their communities, as well as the difficulties many students face in addressing the high cost of tuition and other related expenses.

Community West awards the 2024 Vern Hyde Scholarship to four students for the fall 2024 semester: two scholarships to current high school seniors starting college in the fall, one to a current college student, and one to an individual planning to attend or currently attending a trade program.

This scholarship aims to acknowledge and reward outstanding efforts in leadership, volunteerism, and community involvement. The scholarships will be awarded in the form of a check presented directly to the college, university, or trade program to help offset the cost of tuition and/or books and supplies. 

High school senior: $2,000 Scholarship

High school senior runner-up: $1,500 Scholarship

Current college student: $1,000 Scholarship

Trade program: $2,000 Scholarship


The 2024 application is closed.

Must be a member in good standing for six months by July 1, 2024. Eligibility is limited to high school seniors, current college students, or current trade school students who live or attend school in Allegan, Barry, Ionia, Kent, or Ottawa counties. There is no age limit for applicants. The application and essay must be completed by the individual who is applying for the scholarship. These scholarship funds may only be used for an undergraduate program or trade program. Funds will be disbursed at the discretion of the credit union prior to the beginning of the academic year. The application deadline is 11:59 PM on Wednesday, March 20, 2024. 

Scroll to Top